CTBTO - Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty Organization

The Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT) prohibits, on a worldwide scale, any nuclear weapon test explosion or any other nuclear explosion underground, in the atmosphere, the oceans, or in outer space. The Treaty was negotiated during the Geneva Disarmament Conference, passed by the 51st UN General Assembly on 10 September 1996 and submitted for signature on 24 September 1996.

*

So far the Treaty has been signed by 183 states, and ratified by 164 (as of July  2015). It will enter into force only after it has been signed and ratified by the 44 states listed in its Annex 2. These 44 states had certain levels of nuclear technology at the time the Treaty was drafted. Germany ratified the Treaty on 20 August1998. To enter into force eight more ratifications are needed: Egypt, China, India, Israel, Iran, North Korea, Pakistan and the United States. Of these states only India, Pakistan and North Korea have not yet signed. They are also the only states to have conducted nuclear tests after the CTBT was opened for signing in 1996.

*

After its entry into force, the Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO) will monitor the State Parties' compliance with the Treaty. Germany and the European Union consider its entry into force a major goal towards nuclear disarmament and non-proliferation.

*

Until the entry-into-force of the CTBT the Preparatory Commission of the CTBTO is in charge, consisting of a plenary body and several working groups which are composed of all State Parties, and the Provisional Technical Secretariat (PTS) based in Vienna. German Ambassador Wolfgang Hoffmann was appointed its first Executive Secretary. In August 2005 Ambassador Hoffmann was succeeded in the office by Tibor Tóth, followed in 2013 by Lassina Zerbo.

*

The mandate of the Preparatory Commission is to establish an International Monitoring System, its principal component being a network of 321 monitoring facilities established by each state and operated in collaboration with the PTS. Germany's contribution to this control network are five monitoring stations. Detailed information about some of these monitoring facilities is available on the website of the Federal Institute for Geosciences and Natural Resources - BGR (see link below). Even now the monitoring system with about 85% of the planned monitoring facilities already up and running is capable of detecting smallest underground nuclear explosions.

*

Following the United States and Japan, Germany is the third largest donor country to the budget of the Preparatory Commission, contributing 8.1 % (2015 overall figure: 105 million Euro).

*

For more information visit the website of the Federal Foreign Office

*

Contact CTBTO:
Executive Secretary: Ambassador Lassina Zerbo

Address: Wagramer Strasse 5, 1220 Vienna, Austria
Postal address: CTBTO, P.O. Box 1200, A-1400 Vienna, Austria
tel. (+43-1) 26030-6200
fax (+43-1) 26030-5941

Meetings of the CTBTO PrepCom

Have a look at the updated list of meetings of the CTBTO Preparatory Commission:

Germany's global commitments

Brochure Germany in the United Nations

Federal Foreign Office

.

Ever since joining the United Nations in 1973, Germany has demonstrated a continuously growing commitment to the UN system. This booklet highlights the German contribution to the work of the world organization in all its aspects.

CTBTO - Organisation des Vertrags über ein umfassendes Verbot von Nuklearversuchen - Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty Organization

Der Vertrag über ein umfassendes Verbot von Nuklearversuchen (Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty, CTBT) verbietet weltweit jegliche Versuchsexplosion von Kernwaffen sowie andere nukleare Explosionen in der Erdkruste, der Atmosphäre, den Weltmeeren und im Weltraum. Der Vertrag wurde im Rahmen der Genfer Abrüstungskonferenz verhandelt, von der 51. VN-Generalversammlung am 10. September 1996 verabschiedet und am 24. September 1996 zur Zeichnung ausgelegt.

Zwar haben bislang 183 Staaten den Vertrag gezeichnet und 164 ihn ratifiziert (Stand Juli 2015). Er kann jedoch erst in Kraft treten, sobald er durch jene 44 Staaten, die in Annex 2 zum Vertrag aufgelistet sind, gezeichnet und ratifiziert worden ist. Diese 44 Staaten verfügten zur Zeit der Aushandlung des Vertrags über ein gewisses Maß an Nukleartechnologie. Deutschland hat den Vertrag am 20. August 1998 ratifiziert. Derzeit fehlen für das Inkrafttreten noch acht Ratifikationen: jene von Ägypten, China, Indien, Israel, Iran, Nordkorea, Pakistan und den USA. Von diesen Staaten haben nur Indien, Pakistan und Nordkorea den CTBT noch nicht gezeichnet. Dies sind zugleich die einzigen drei Staaten, die nach Auflegung des CTBT zur Zeichnung 1996 noch Atomtests durchgeführt haben.

Nach dem Inkrafttreten des CTBT wird seine Einhaltung von der Vertragsorganisation (Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty Organization, CTBTO) überwacht werden. Das Inkrafttreten des CTBT ist für Deutschland wie auch für die EU insgesamt ein zentrales Ziel im Bereich der nuklearen Abrüstung und Nichtverbreitung.

Für die Zeit bis zum Inkrafttreten des CTBT wurde die Vorbereitende Kommission der CTBTO eingerichtet. Sie besteht aus einem Plenarorgan und mehreren Arbeitsgruppen, in denen alle Vertragsstaaten vertreten sind, sowie dem Provisorischen Technischen Sekretariat (PTS) mit Sitz in Wien. Zu ihrem ersten Exekutivsekretär, der dem PTS vorsteht, wurde Botschafter Dr. Wolfgang Hoffmann aus Deutschland bestellt. Ab August 2005 war Tibor Tóth Exekutivsekretär, seit 2013 ist Lassina Zerbo der amtierende Exekutivsekretär.

Das Mandat der Vorbereitenden Kommission sieht die Errichtung eines weltweiten Überwachungssystems vor, dessen Hauptbestandteil ein Netz von 321 Messstationen sowie 16 unterstützende Laboratorien sein wird, die von den einzelnen Staaten aufgebaut und in Zusammenarbeit mit dem PTS betrieben werden. Deutschland trägt mit fünf Stationen zur Funktion dieses Kontrollnetzes bei. Detaillierte Informationen zu einigen dieser Stationen sind auf der Homepage der Bundesanstalt für Geowissenschaften und Rohstoffe (BGR) verfügbar (Link siehe unten). Schon jetzt ist das Überwachungssystem, von dem bislang ca. 85% der vorgesehenen Messstationen errichtet sind, in der Lage, selbst kleinste unterirdische Nuklearexplosionen zu orten.

Nach den USA und Japan ist Deutschland mit 7,3 % drittgrößter Pflichtbeitragszahler zum Haushalt der Vorbereitenden Kommission (2015: insgesamt ca. 105 Mio. Euro).

Für mehr Informationen siehe auch die Website des Auswärtigen Amts

Erreichbarkeiten CTBTO:
Leiter: Botschafter Lassina Zerbo

Adresse: Wagramer Straße 5, 1220 Wien, Österreich
Postanschrift: CTBTO, P.O.Box 1200, A-1400 Vienna, Austria
Telefon: (+43-1) 26030-6200
Fax: (+43-1) 26030-5941

Terminkalender des CTBTO-PrepCom

Die aktuelle Veranstaltungsliste des CTBTO-Vorbereitungsausschusses finden Sie hier:

Deutschlands globales Engagement

Broschüre Deutschland in den Vereinten Nationen

Auswärtiges Amt

.

Seit seinem Beitritt zu den Vereinten Nationen im Jahr 1973 engagiert sich Deutschland mit stetig steigender Tendenz im System der VN. Diese Broschüre gibt einen Überblick über den Beitrag Deutschlands zur Arbeit der Weltorganisation.