IAEA - International Atomic Energy Agency

The IAEA was established in 1957 as an independent intergovernmental organization which closely relates to the UN system regarding its structure and procedures. The Agency reports to the UN General Assembly regularly and has the duty to inform the Security Council directly in case of a detected threat to the world peace (Statute, Article III B 4).

The tasks of the IAEA rest on four pillars:
- Nuclear safety and security
- Verification and safeguards
- Nuclear technology
- Technical cooperation

Nuclear safety and security:

The Agency implements programmes to improve the safety of nuclear facilities and provides a forum for the development of international standards in this area. Also, the IAEA works for the physical protection (security) of nuclear material against misuse and illicit trafficking.

Verification and Safeguards: 

The Agency controls the use and verifies the stocks of nuclear material in the framework of safeguards agreements concluded with its member states. Thereby the IAEA wants to confirm that the controlled facilities serve exclusively peaceful purposes.

Nuclear Technology:

The IAEA contributes worldwide to the peaceful use of nuclear power by numerous symposia and coordinated research contracts, databases as well as comprehensive activities in documentation and publication. The Agency supports the international cooperation and harmonization in the regulatory area for the use of nuclear power.

Technical Cooperation:

The IAEA assists developing countries inter alia in the fields of human and veterinary medicine, water management, production and supply of food, as well as agriculture by means of expert assignments, scholarships, training courses and, if necessary, supply with equipment.

Structure of the IAEA:

IAEA programmes and budgets are set through the decisions of the IAEA's policy-making bodies: the 35-member Board of Governors and the General Conference of all (168 as of March 2016) Member States. The General Conference meets annually, typically in September. The Board of Governors meets five times per year - in March and June, twice in September (before and after the General Conference), and again in November.

German representation in the IAEA:

Germany became a member of the organization in its foundation year in 1956, and has been participating continually  in the work of the Board of Governors as a designated member. Following the United States, Japan and China, Germany is the fourth largest donor country to the overall budget of the IAEA which amounts to app. 350 million Euro. With additional voluntary payments by various member states, and the Technical Assistance Fund for developing countries, IAEA's 2,300 staff members are managing about 500 million Euro annually.

 

Contact IAEA:
Director General: Yukiya Amano (JPN)
Address: IAEA Headquarters, Wagramer Strasse 5, 1220 Vienna, Austria
Postal address: IAEA, P.O. Box 200, A-1400 Vienna, Austria
tel. (+43-1) 2600-0
fax (+43-1) 26007

IAEA in the world wide web:

IAEA Laboratories in Seibersdorf and Vienna

The IAEA Laboratories are a focal point for research and international cooperation in the application of nuclear techniques.
The tasks of the Laboratories are manifold, ranging from radiation measurements and the training of scientists to sustainable development for the environment. One of the successful Laboratory projects focuses on tsetse fly eradication techniques.

Tastatur

IAEA - International Nuclear Information System

The IAEA database 'International Nuclear Information System' (INIS) is one of the largest collections of publications on nuclear science and technologies. INIS offers reports, newsletters and information in collaboration with more than 150 member states:

read more

INIS Thesaurus

IAEA Meetings calendar

View the updated meetings calendar of the International Atomic Energy Agency:

Germany's global commitments

Brochure Germany in the United Nations

Federal Foreign Office

.

Ever since joining the United Nations in 1973, Germany has demonstrated a continuously growing commitment to the UN system. This booklet highlights the German contribution to the work of the world organization in all its aspects.

IAEO - Internationale Atomenergie-Organisation - IAEA - International Atomic Energy Agency

Die IAEO wurde 1957 als eine autonome zwischenstaatliche Organisation gegründet, die sich in Struktur und Arbeitsabläufen eng an das VN-System anlehnt. Sie berichtet regelmäßig der Generalversammlung der VN und hat die Pflicht, bei einer festgestellten Gefährdung des Weltfriedens den Sicherheitsrat direkt anzurufen (Statut, Art. III B 4).

Die Aufgaben der IAEO konzentrieren sich auf folgende vier Bereiche:
- Verifikation und Safeguards
- Sicherheit und Sicherung
- friedliche Nutzung der Kerntechnologie
- internationale Entwicklungszusammenarbeit auf den Gebieten Human- und Tiermedizin, Wasser, Nahrungsmittelproduktion und -versorgung sowie Landwirtschaft

Verifikation und Safeguards:

Die IAEO kontrolliert die Verwendung und verifiziert den Verbleib von Kernmaterial in kerntechnischen Anlagen im Rahmen der "Safeguards-"Abkommen, die sie mit ihren Mitgliedsstaaten abgeschlossen hat. Auf diese Weise soll sichergestellt werden, dass Anlagen und Material allein der friedlichen Nutzung der Kernenergie dienen.

Sicherheit und Sicherung:

Die IAEO führt Programme zur Verbesserung der Sicherheit kerntechnischer Anlagen durch und stellt ein Forum bereit, um internationale Standards in diesem Bereich zu vereinbaren. Sie fördert den physischen Schutz, sprich die Sicherung, von Kernmaterial gegen Missbrauch, um z.B. Nuklearschmuggel zu verhindern.

Friedliche Nutzung der Kerntechnologie:

Die IAEO fördert weltweit die friedliche Nutzung der Kerntechnologie durch zahlreiche Fachtagungen und koordinierte Forschungsverträge, Datenbanken sowie umfassende Dokumentations- und Publikationstätigkeiten. Sie unterstützt die internationale Zusammenarbeit und Harmonisierung im regulatorischen Bereich.

 

Internationale Entwicklungszusammenarbeit:

Die IAEO leistet technische Unterstützung für Entwicklungsländer u.a. auf den Gebieten Human- und Tiermedizin, Wasser, Nahrungsmittelproduktion und -versorgung sowie Landwirtschaft durch Entsendung von Experten, Stipendien, Ausbildungskurse und, sofern erforderlich, Lieferung von Geräten.

Struktur der IAEO:

Alle 168 Mitgliedstaaten (Stand März 2016) sind in der jährlich tagenden Generalkonferenz vertreten. Fünf Mal pro Jahr tagt der Gouverneursrat, das neben der Generalkonferenz zweite Kontroll- und Lenkungsorgan der IAEO. Im Gouverneursrat sind 35 Mitgliedstaaten vertreten (darunter als sogenannte designierte Mitglieder die dreizehn Länder mit der weltweit am weitesten entwickelten Nukleartechnologie sowie - auf jeweils zwei Jahre benannt - wechselnde Vertreter aller Regionalgruppen). Dem Gouverneursrat arbeiten der Programm- und Haushaltsausschuss (PBC) und der Ausschuss für Technische Zusammenarbeit (TACC) zu.

Deutsche Vertretung in der IAEO:

Deutschland ist seit dem Gründungsjahr 1956 Mitglied der Organisation und im Gouverneursrat als designiertes Mitglied vertreten. Der deutsche VN-Botschafter fungiert als deutscher Vertreter im Gouverneursrat. Nach den USA und Japan ist Deutschland drittgrößter Beitragszahler für den rund 350 Mio. Euro umfassenden Haushalt der IAEO. Hinzu kommen noch freiwillige Sonderzahlungen verschiedener Mitgliedstaaten und ein Fonds für technische Zusammenarbeit, wodurch die rund 2.300 Mitarbeiter der IAEO jährlich bis zu 500 Mio. Euro verwalten.

Erreichbarkeiten IAEO:
Leiter: Generaldirektor Yukiya Amano (Japan)
Adresse: IAEA Headquarters, Wagramer Straße 5, 1220 Wien, Österreich
Postanschrift: IAEA, P.O.Box 200, A-1400 Vienna, Austria
Telefon: (+43-1) 2600-0
Fax: (+43-1) 26007

Die IAEO im World Wide Web:

IAEO-Laboratorien in Seibersdorf und Wien

Die IAEO-Laboratorien sind Fokus für Forschung und internationale Zusammenarbeit bei der Anwendung von Nukleartechniken.

Zu den komplexen Aufgaben der IAEO-Laboratorien zählen u.a. Strahlenmessungen, Ausbildung und nachhaltige Entwicklung im Umweltbereich. Ein erfolgreiches Projekt ist z.B. die Bekämpfung der Tsetse-Fliege.

Terminkalender der IAEO

Hier finden Sie den aktuellen Terminkalender der Internationalen Atomenergie-Organisation:

Deutschlands globales Engagement

Broschüre Deutschland in den Vereinten Nationen

Auswärtiges Amt

.

Seit seinem Beitritt zu den Vereinten Nationen im Jahr 1973 engagiert sich Deutschland mit stetig steigender Tendenz im System der VN. Diese Broschüre gibt einen Überblick über den Beitrag Deutschlands zur Arbeit der Weltorganisation.