OPEC - Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries

The Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) was founded in Baghdad in 1960, with headquarters in Vienna and thirteen Member States to date, i.e. Algeria, Angola, Ecuador, Indonesia, Irak, Iran, Kuwait, Libya, Nigeria, Qatar, Saudi-Arabia, the United Arab Emirates and Venezuela. OPEC's main objectives as set out in its statute are price stability and regular consultations of all Member States on common production and market policies. The Oil ministers of OPEC Member States agree on Common guidelines regarding production policies and quotas at regular meetings in Vienna.

Contact OPEC Secretariat:
Secretary General: H.E. Mr. Mohammad Sanusi Barkindo
Address: Helferstorferstrasse 17, 1010 Wien, Österreich
Tel. (+43-1) 211 12 279
Fax (+43-1) 214 98 27

OPEC in the world wide web:

OPEC and the OPEC Fund for International Cooperation are located in Vienna:

German Energy Policy:

For more information visit the homepage of the German Federal Foreign Office and the homepage of the Federal Ministry for Economics and Technology, section "Energy policy":

Germany's global commitments

Brochure Germany in the United Nations

Federal Foreign Office


Ever since joining the United Nations in 1973, Germany has demonstrated a continuously growing commitment to the UN system. This booklet highlights the German contribution to the work of the world organization in all its aspects.